Rhodesia. Canada does not recognize the present government of Rhodesia. (Trade embargo exists between Canada and Rhodesia with certain humanitarian exceptions.)

Sierra Leone. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective April 27, 1961. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Sierra Leone. Sierra Leone extends most-favoured-nation tariff treatment to Canada.)

Singapore. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT de facto application. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Sri Lanka, Republic of (formerly Ceylon). Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective July 29, 1948. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Swaziland. Relations governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential treatment to Swaziland.)

Tanzania. GATT effective for Tanganyika December 9, 1961 and extended to Zanzibar upon formation of United Republic, April 23, 1964. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Tanzania. Tanzania extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

Tonga. Tonga maintains de facto application of GATT. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

**Trinidad and Tobago.** Relations are based on Canada - West Indies Trade Agreement and protocol thereto (see Commonwealth Caribbean). GATT effective August 31, 1962. (Exchange of preferential tariff treatment.)

Uganda. GATT effective October 9, 1962. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Uganda. Uganda extends most-favoured-nation tariff treatment to Canada.)

Western Samoa. No agreement. (Exchange of British preferential tariff treatment.)

Zambia. GATT de facto application. (Canada accords British preferential tariff treatment to Zambia. Zambia extends most-favoured-nation treatment to Canada.)

## 18.2.2.2 Tariff and trade arrangements with non-Commonwealth countries, as at December 31, 1972

Algeria. Franco - Canadian Trade Agreement of 1933 applied to Algeria. Algeria maintains de facto application of GATT. (Since the creation of Algeria as an independent state in 1962, Canada has continued to grant most-favoured-nation treatment.)

**Arab Republic of Egypt.** Exchange of notes in force December 3, 1952. GATT effective May 9, 1970. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

**Argentina.** Trade Agreement in force November 15, 1941. GATT effective October 11, 1967. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Austria. GATT effective October 19, 1951. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Bahrain. Bahrain maintains de facto application of GATT. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

**Belgium - Luxembourg.** Convention of Commerce with Belgium - Luxembourg Economic Union (including Belgian colonies) entered into effect October 22, 1924. GATT effective January 1, 1948. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Benelux (Belgium - Netherlands - Luxembourg Customs Union). (See Belgium - Luxembourg and Netherlands.)

**Bolivia.** Order in Council of July 20, 1935 accepted Article 15 of UK - Bolivia Treaty of Commerce. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Brazil. Trade Agreement in force April 16, 1943. GATT effective July 31, 1948. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

**Bulgaria.** Trade Agreement signed October 8, 1963 renewed for further three years from October 8, 1966 and extended on de facto basis. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment and undertaking by Bulgaria to purchase a minimum of 200,000 metric tons of wheat or equivalent in flour during the three-year validity of the Agreement.)

Burma. GATT effective July 29, 1948. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Burundi. GATT effective November 25, 1965. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)